Are Peptides Legal in 2026?

Approval status varies by substance

Editorially reviewed · Last updated September 8, 2026 · How we review

In the United States, “peptide” is not a single legal category. FDA-approved peptide medicines, patient-specific compounded drugs and investigational substances have different rules. A prescription, a Category 1 listing and an advisory-committee vote are not interchangeable forms of approval.
The July 23–24, 2026 Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting considered seven peptide families for the 503A Bulks List. RAPS reported favorable recommendations for six and an unfavorable recommendation for emideltide. Those recommendations are advisory, not FDA drug approvals or final additions to the list.

FDA also has a separate, conditional interim enforcement policy for some Category 1 substances. That is why “nothing can be compounded until a final rule” is too broad, while “Category 1 means legal and safe” is also wrong.

This article explains the regulatory distinctions, which peptides are affected, how the July 23–24 vote actually landed, and how it relates to FDA-approved drugs like semaglutide (Wegovy) and investigational drugs like retatrutide.

What did the RFK announcement change?

The February 2026 announcement expressed an intention to reconsider restrictions. It did not itself change the 503A Bulks List, approve a medicine or authorize every peptide named in online coverage.

The verifiable regulatory steps are FDA’s published category lists, substance-specific nominations, advisory materials and rulemaking. The July meeting addressed seven named peptide families. A statement about “14 peptides” should not be treated as an official list of products a pharmacy may supply.


What do Category 1 and Category 2 mean?

FDA’s 503A interim categories describe how nominated bulk substances are being handled while the agency evaluates them. They are separate from the final 503A Bulks List and from the rules for 503B outsourcing facilities.
CategoryMeaningPractical limit
Category 1Nominated with enough information for FDA to evaluateConditional interim enforcement policy; not drug approval or a finding of proven safety
Category 2FDA identified significant safety risks pending evaluationOutside the Category 1 interim policy; FDA may take enforcement action
Category 3Nomination lacks enough supporting informationOutside the Category 1 interim policy
A Category 1 listing means FDA does not intend to take specified enforcement action if the guidance conditions are met. It is not blanket permission to compound, does not satisfy every federal or state requirement, and does not apply automatically to 503B facilities. FDA says substances newly nominated on or after January 7, 2025 will not be placed into these interim categories.

Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved: FDA does not review each compounded product for safety, effectiveness and quality before marketing.


Which Peptides Are Affected

Use the published lists, not a predicted list of 14

The seven families on the July agenda were BPC-157, KPV, TB-500, MOTS-c, emideltide, semax and epitalon, with free-base and acetate forms considered. They were considered for the final 503A Bulks List, not automatically moved into Category 1.
FDA’s current linked category document, updated May 14, 2026, lists GHK-Cu for non-injectable routes in Category 1. That route restriction matters: it does not include injectable GHK-Cu. The document also explains that withdrawal of a nomination caused a previous removal; removal from a safety-risk category is not a finding that a substance is safe.

Restrictions are substance- and route-specific

The same document lists ibutamoren mesylate and kisspeptin-10 in 503A Category 2, among other substances. It does not support the earlier prediction that kisspeptin-10 was about to become available through Category 1. Check the current FDA category document for the exact substance and route rather than relying on a fixed “14 returning / 5 banned” table.

July 2026 PCAC vote — what was the result?

RFK Jr.'s "14 peptides" figure describes his stated intent. It was not the list the FDA voted on. The Federal Register notice published April 16, 2026 put 7 peptides in front of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee for its July 23–24, 2026 meeting. These were considered for possible inclusion on the final 503A Bulks List:
PeptideAlso Known AsUse discussed or promoted; not an approved indication
BPC-157Body Protection Compound-157Gut healing, tendon/ligament repair
TB-500Thymosin Beta-4 fragmentTissue repair, wound healing
KPVLysine-Proline-ValineAnti-inflammatory (gut and skin)
MOTS-cMitochondrial ORF of the 12S rRNA-cMetabolic regulation, insulin sensitivity
EmideltideDSIP (Delta Sleep-Inducing Peptide)Sleep regulation
EpitalonEpithalonSleep, circadian rhythm
Semax—Cognition, focus, neuroprotection

FDA’s category document states an intention to consult PCAC about GHK-Cu before the end of February 2027. A stated intention is not a confirmed meeting date or an approval timetable.

How the committee actually voted

The vote summary below follows contemporaneous RAPS reporting; FDA’s meeting page supplies the agenda and scientific briefing documents. The meeting ran across two days — four peptides on Thursday July 23, three on Friday July 24. Each substance was voted on separately, and each was evaluated against a specific indication, which is often narrower than the use the peptide is actually marketed for:

Swipe sideways to see every column.

PeptideIndication evaluatedVoteOutcome
BPC-157Ulcerative colitis8–6, 1 abstentionRecommended
KPVWound treatment and inflammatory conditions8–6, 1 abstentionRecommended
TB-500Tissue repairTally not reportedRecommended
MOTS-cObesity and osteoporosisTally not reportedRecommended
SemaxCerebral ischemia, migraine, trigeminal neuralgia8–5Recommended
EpitalonInsomnia7–5, 1 abstentionRecommended
Emideltide (DSIP)Chronic insomnia, narcolepsy, opioid withdrawal6–7, 1 abstentionRejected

Three things about that table matter more than the headline:

  • The committee disagreed with FDA staff recommendations. FDA staff recommended against inclusion for all seven, saying the evaluation criteria "weigh against" placing these substances on the list, citing limited evidence of effectiveness and the availability of alternative treatments. The committee nevertheless recommended six for inclusion.
  • The margins were thin. BPC-157 and KPV cleared by two votes; epitalon by two; emideltide failed by one. This was not a consensus.
  • The votes are advisory. The recommendation is non-binding. FDA retains responsibility for list additions through rulemaking and may decline a recommendation.
For the full detail on the most-discussed of these, see BPC-157: the FDA 503A vote, legality, and what the evidence shows and the TB-500 explainer.

These substances were not on the July 23–24 agenda:

PeptideStatusWhy
CJC-1295Not on July agendaNo July committee vote on this substance
IpamorelinNot on July agendaNo July committee vote on this substance
GHK-CuNot on July agendaFDA stated an intention to consult PCAC before the end of February 2027; no confirmed date
If you see a protocol described as "about to be legal in July," check it against the 7-peptide list above. A peptide can be part of RFK Jr.'s broader 14 and still not be on the committee's July ballot.

Reclassification is not FDA approval

A favorable recommendation does not put a substance into Category 1 or approve a drug. FDA must decide what action to take on the proposed 503A list addition. Even a final listing would concern eligibility for compounding under specified conditions, not approval of a finished product or proof for every marketed use.


Not all peptides have the same legal standing. Here is how the different categories work in practice:

Tier 1: FDA-Approved Drugs

These peptides completed full clinical trials and received FDA marketing authorization. Legal to prescribe, covered by some insurance plans.

PeptideBrand NameApproved For
SemaglutideWegovy, OzempicWeight management, type 2 diabetes
TirzepatideZepbound, MounjaroWeight management, type 2 diabetes
TesamorelinEgrifta SVHIV-associated lipodystrophy

Tier 2: Compounding under specific conditions

A compounded product must satisfy applicable requirements; a prescription alone is not sufficient. Category 1 describes a conditional FDA interim enforcement policy, while the final 503A Bulks List provides a different statutory route. Neither is drug approval. Section 503B has separate bulk-substance rules.

Tier 3: Substances outside the interim policy

For Category 2 and Category 3 substances, FDA says the Category 1 interim policy does not apply and the agency may take enforcement action. The exact substance, route, nomination and current rule matter.

Tier 4: Investigational Drugs

Retatrutide is investigational and not an approved commercial prescription medicine. FDA states that retatrutide cannot be used in compounding under federal law. The July peptide recommendations do not change that. For research access information, see clinical trial signup.

Tier 5: Gray Market "Research Chemicals"

“For research use only” is not a legal exemption for marketing a product for human treatment. FDA has warned sellers whose intended-use claims show that they are selling unapproved drugs despite those disclaimers. This page cannot determine the legality of a particular purchase or import from a seller’s label.


How does this relate to GLP-1 drugs?

The peptide reclassification is a separate regulatory action from the GLP-1 compounding debate. Key distinctions:
  • Semaglutide and tirzepatide were not on the July peptide agenda. Approved products and their compounding rules must be checked separately.
  • The shortage-related enforcement periods ended, restricting routine copies. FDA’s April 2026 update still describes patient-specific 503A exceptions and separate 503B rules; this is not a ban on every possible compounded preparation.
  • Retatrutide is NOT affected by the reclassification. FDA states it cannot be used in compounding under federal law.

Some investigational peptides are marketed as weight-loss alternatives:

  • AOD-9604 — a growth hormone fragment studied for fat metabolism (failed its Phase 2b trial)
  • MOTS-C — a mitochondrial peptide with no human weight loss clinical evidence
  • CJC-1295 + Ipamorelin — growth hormone secretagogues with zero human weight loss trials
These are not equivalent to GLP-1 drugs. For a full evidence comparison, see Peptides vs GLP-1 for Weight Loss.

What is the timeline of the ban?

DateRegulatory step
February 2025FDA determined the semaglutide injection shortage was resolved
April 1, 2026FDA clarified 503A patient-specific and 503B bulk-substance conditions for GLP-1 compounding
May 14, 2026FDA updated its linked 503A interim-category document, including the non-injectable GHK-Cu distinction
July 23–24, 2026PCAC considered seven peptide families; contemporaneous reporting described favorable recommendations for six
Next stepsFDA considers list additions through its process; no fixed completion date is established here

What This Means for Consumers

What You Can Do

  • Ask whether a proposed product is FDA-approved, compounded under a specific legal basis, or investigational.
  • Ask the prescriber and pharmacy which current FDA rule or policy applies to the exact substance and route.
  • Check the FDA’s published documents rather than a seller’s claim that a vote made a product “legal.”
  • Use ClinicalTrials.gov and the sponsor’s study contacts to investigate trial participation.

What You Cannot Do

You cannot infer approval, safety or eligibility for compounding from a committee vote, an online listing or a research-use label. A licensed pharmacy is not proof that every product it offers satisfies the applicable rules.


Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the exact product and activity. FDA-approved medicines, qualifying compounded preparations and investigational substances have different rules. Category 1 is a conditional interim enforcement policy, not blanket legalization. A research-use label does not authorize marketing a substance for human treatment.

There is no established date when a list of 14 becomes legal. The July 2026 committee considered seven peptide families for the final 503A Bulks List. Its recommendations are non-binding, and FDA’s rulemaking and interim-category policies must be checked separately.

Does the peptide reclassification affect retatrutide?

No. The July agenda did not include retatrutide. FDA states that retatrutide cannot be used in compounding under federal law, and it remains investigational. See retatrutide availability for the current research and commercial-access distinction.
BPC-157 is not FDA-approved. The reported July advisory recommendation did not add it to the final 503A Bulks List, and the current linked Category 1 document does not list it. Do not treat a prescription or online sale as proof of a qualifying compounding pathway. See BPC-157 for the evidence and regulatory distinctions.

How did the FDA committee vote in July 2026?

Across the two-day meeting the committee recommended six of the seven peptides for the 503A Bulks List: BPC-157 (8–6, one abstention), KPV (8–6, one abstention), TB-500, MOTS-c, Semax (8–5), and Epitalon (7–5, one abstention). Emideltide (DSIP) was the only rejection, failing 6–7 with one abstention. The votes went against the FDA's own staff scientists, who recommended "no" on all seven, citing limited evidence of effectiveness and the availability of alternative treatments. The recommendations are non-binding; FDA action and any applicable interim policy must be checked separately.

Can compounding pharmacies make semaglutide or tirzepatide?

Routine copies are restricted following the end of shortage-related enforcement discretion. Under 503A, FDA describes an exception when a prescriber documents a change that makes a significant difference for an identified patient, alongside other requirements. Under 503B, bulk-substance rules are different, and FDA’s April 2026 update says semaglutide and tirzepatide are neither on the 503B Bulks List nor the shortage list. A pharmacy must establish the applicable legal basis; adding an ingredient does not automatically do so.

What is the difference between FDA-approved and Category 1?

FDA approval is a review of a particular drug product for its indications. Category 1 concerns nominated bulk substances under a conditional interim enforcement policy while FDA evaluates them. It is not a safety or efficacy approval, and it is separate from the final 503A Bulks List.

Are research peptides safe to inject?

A research-use label does not establish identity, sterility, quality or safety for injection. FDA has warned sellers that use such labels while marketing unapproved drugs for human treatment. A clinician can assess the medical problem and discuss approved treatments; a seller’s disclaimer cannot substitute for that assessment.


Sources

  • FDA. Current linked category document, updated May 14, 2026.
  • FDA. GLP-1 compounding conditions, April 1, 2026 update.
  • Regulatory Affairs Professionals Society (RAPS). (2026). FDA advisory committee backs two more peptides, rejects one for compounding list. raps.org.
  • TIME. (2026, July 23). An FDA Committee Just Voted in Favor of Peptides — Despite the Agency's Opposition. time.com.
  • STAT News. (2026, July 23). FDA advisory panel narrowly votes to allow compounding of unapproved peptides. statnews.com.
  • FDA. (2026). Meeting of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, July 23–24, 2026. fda.gov.
  • BioPharma Dive. (2026). FDA moves toward easing restrictions on certain peptides. biopharmadive.com.
  • Gizmodo. (2026). RFK Jr. Tells Joe Rogan He's About to Unleash 14 Banned Peptides. gizmodo.com.
  • FDA. Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding May Present Significant Safety Risks. fda.gov.
  • Reed Smith LLP. (2024). FDA removes certain peptide bulk drug substances from Category 2. Lexology.
  • DJ Holt Law. (2026). Regulatory Alert: The Legal Status of BPC-157. djholtlaw.com.
  • FierceHealthcare. (2025). FDA declares semaglutide shortage over. fiercehealthcare.com.
  • Health Law Alliance. (2026). FDA Targets GLP-1 and Peptide Compounding. healthlawalliance.com.

Questions to ask your doctor

  • Is an approved GLP-1 medication a reasonable option for me?
  • How can I access a legitimate, prescribed option safely?
  • What are the specific risks of unregulated or compounded sources?
  • What monitoring or follow-up would I need if I started treatment?

How we keep this honest
What this is
Educational information, not medical advice. It reports published research — it doesn’t recommend that you use, obtain, or supply anything.
Regulatory status
FDA-approved peptide medicines, compounded products and investigational peptides have different regulatory status. Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved, and an advisory committee recommendation does not itself add a substance to the 503A Bulks List.
Our standard
Every claim traces to a primary source. We label the strength of evidence and flag estimates as estimates — never as clinical fact.
No commercial ties
We don’t sell, supply, or link to suppliers of any medicine, and aren’t affiliated with any manufacturer.

Do not make decisions about your health without consulting a qualified healthcare provider. For trial enrolment, see ClinicalTrials.gov. More on how we review.

Grounded in primary sources
NEJMThe LancetJAMAFDAClinicalTrials.gov